Spain vs. Chile – AMIGOS PARA SIEMPRE?

This is going to be a fabulous match.  I can feel it.  45 million Spaniards loudly blowing their vuvuzelas in Europe and about 17 million Chileans blowing even harder in Santiago and beyond.

Let’s look at the group history: Switzerland beats Spain 1-0, but Chile then beats the Swiss 1-0.  However, to make things more complex, Chile beat Honduras 1-0 and, a few days later, Spain went on to beat Honduras 2-0.

Eish! I’m very glad I’m not a bookmaker, because how do you work out who will win and who will lose?  So, for me – being this old white boy who lives and loves Africa passionately – some research was needed.

I found a witch-doctor who threw some bones.

Here is the prediction:
SPAIN beat CHILE: 2-1

So, I smiled and rubbed my hands and then asked this lady witch-doctor about what would happen to Switzerland, who were on the same points as Chile.

Again, she rolled the bones and this time her prediction was:
SWITZERLAND beat HONDURAS  2-1

Then I did some quick calculations. Who would go through to the knock-out stage, based on goal averages, since Chile and Switzerland would be compelety equal.

So I asked her again what the final Group stage outcome would be.  She smiled, and said I had run out of ‘witch-doctor’ credits.  I blushed, and left the room.

As I walked outside, I heard the witch-doctor’s next client whisper to her husband: “I think it’s chilly, darling. Don’t you?”

So I’m off to learn “Himno Nacional de Chile” so I can root loud and strong for them, in vuvuzela-land!

(Brian – in Durban, South Africa.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment